: 0

PAT METHENY/TAP: John Zorn's Book of Angels Vol. 20
Roll Over Image to Zoom

PAT METHENY/TAP: John Zorn's Book of Angels Vol. 20

Item #: 4YCD78
  • Add To Cart
Customer Reviews (0)
Write a Review
PAT METHENY/TAP: John Zorn's Book of Angels Vol. 20

Pat Metheny adds his contribution to John Zorn’s ambitiously expansive Masada Book Two with Tap: The Book of Angels, Volume 20. This album is the first collaboration between the two artists, considered among their generation’s most innovative musicians. Besides his frequent collaborator, drummer Antonio Sanchez, Metheny plays all other instruments—guitars, sitar, tiples, bass, keyboards, orchestrionics, electronics, bandoneón, percussion, flugelhorn, and more—himself.

Track List: The Book of Angels, Volume 20: Tap

1. Mastema
2. Albim
3. Tharsis
4. Sariel
5. Phanuel
6. Hurmiz

Beginning in the 1990s, Zorn wrote 500 songs inspired by traditional Jewish music; they came to be known as two volumes of the Masada Book. He performed the first 200 songs of Book One with the rotating members of the Masada ensemble for a decade before writing Book Two’s 300 tunes in just three months. Over the past eight years, the songs from Book Two have been recorded as volumes of The Book of Angels by a stellar group of musicians, including the Masada Quintet, Masada String Trio, Medeski Martin & Wood, and Marc Ribot.

Zorn says of Metheny’s recording, “Pat is of course a living legend—one of those rare lights in the universe. His incredible facility and dedication, indefatigable energy and focus, imagination, and never-ending curiosity have distinguished him as truly one of the greatest musicians on the planet.” He continues, “Tap is a showcase for Pat’s remarkable imagination, technique, passion, and love for the world. No matter how many times I listen to this recording I am hit with that same sense of exhilaration that hit me the very first time.”

Metheny, who recently won his 20th Grammy Award, adds, “I have admired John Zorn since the late ’70s and have followed his amazing output every step of the way. A few years ago, after contacting me to write some notes for one of his Arcana publications, John and I began an inspired e-mail connection. (As hard as it is to believe, we had never met in person over the years.) I mentioned that I had followed his Book of Angels series from the start and felt like I might be able to contribute something unique to the collection. With his enthusiastic encouragement, he gave me some suggestions as to which tunes were still unrecorded, and I picked the ones that jumped out and spoke to me. Over the next year, in between breaks from the road, I recorded them one by one in my home studio whenever I got a chance.”

You may also be interested in:

  • Pat Metheny - KIN (<- ->) CD
    Item #: 4YCD80
    Pat Metheny - KIN ( - CD Release Date: 2/4/14 “The core quartet of Chris, Ben, Antonio and I played over 100 concerts over the year that followed the release of our Unity Band record. Over the course of that period, the band became one of those rare combinations of players where the whole is greater than the sum of its parts - it gelled in every way, and that just seemed to beg for expansion and further research. Concurrently, I had been kind of itching to write more in the style that I had developed over the years with my regular groups and projects where there is a lush and more orchestrated kind of compositional conception that went beyond the sonic limits of what a straight ahead quartet might invoke. But I really didn’t want to lose the energy, focus and intensity of what this band had developed. I wanted to take it further." ~ Pat Metheny Track List: 1. On Day One (15:15) 2. Rise Up (11:56) 3. Adagia (2:14) 4. Sign of the Season (10:14) 5. Kin ( ) (11:06) 6. Born (7:51) 7. Genealogy (:38) 8. We Go On (5:33) 9. Kqu (5:27)
    • $16.99
  • Pat Metheny - What’s It All About CD
    Item #: 4YCD73
    The new acoustic solo guitar album from Pat Metheny features classic tunes from songwriters like Paul Simon, Lennon & McCartney, Burt Bacharach, and Henry Mancini. Pat describes it like this: “I wanted to record some of the music that was on my radar before I ever wrote a note of my own, or in a few cases, even before I played an instrument. Every one of these tunes has something going on that is just hip on a musical level, no matter how you cut it. They have all stuck with me over the years." Click image for track listing.
    • $12.99
  • Pat Metheny: The Orchestrion Project 2CD
    Item #: 4YCD76
    Pat Metheny - The Orchestrion Project Double CD Track Listing: Improvisation #1 Antonia Entry Point Expansion Improvisation #2 80/81-Broadway Blues Orchestrion DISC TWO Soul Search Spirit of the Air Stranger in Town Sueno Con Mexico Tell Her You Saw Me Unity Village
    • $24.99
  • Pat Metheny Travels Water Bottle
    Item #: 4YAM47
    TRAVELS WATER BOTTLE: Hi quality 24 oz H2Go water bottles made of single wall 18/8 stainless steel. Designed for cold liquids only.
    • $24.95
    • $9.99
  • The Orchestrion Project 2 DVD
    Item #: 4YAM50
    “The Orchestrion Project” **FORMAT: NTSC / DVD will only play in N. America Available on both 2-disc DVD and single disc 3D Blu-ray format (the latter will play in 2D in non-3D Blu-ray players). With this project, 19 time Grammy winning guitarist Pat Metheny has created a whole new way to make music. Based on a childhood fascination with his grandfather’s player piano, Metheny commissioned new inventors to build an exciting array of acoustic mechanical musical instruments capable of responding to his touch on the guitar, resulting in a completely unique approach to solo performance. This unusual collaboration between a master guitarist and his wildest imagination has resulted in a fascinating and absolutely one of a kind musical experience. “The Orchestrion Project” was filmed in Greenpoint, Brooklyn by Grammy and Emmy Award winning directors Pierre & François Lamoureux at the former St Elias Church in November 2010. It features Pat Metheny on guitar performing The Orchestrion Suite. Added to this are other tracks from across Metheny’s prolific career going back to “Unity Village” (from his debut solo album “Bright Size Life” in 1976) and including other tracks from the seventies, eighties and nineties. Also included is over an hour of bonus material containing four featurettes: The Making Of The Orchestrion Project; Pat Metheny Interview; the Original EPK; a Studio Session: “Orchestrion”; a Studio Session: “Expansion”
    • $19.95
  • Metheny Mehldau - Quartet T-Shirt
    Item #: 4YCT16
    T-shirt from the Metheny Mehldau Quartet 2007 World Tour with tour dates March 15 Grand Junction, CO through July 28 Europe on the back.
    • $18.99
  • Pat Metheny Unity Band CD
    Item #: 4YCD75
    • $12.99
  • Pat Metheny - Day Trip CD
    Item #: 4YCD01
    Day Trip features the fine musicianship of Pat Metheny along with bassist Christian McBride and drummer Antonio Sanchez. Please click image for track listing.
    • $12.99
  • Pat Metheny - Orchestrion CD
    Item #: 4YCD43
    With Orchestrion , Metheny dramatically redefines the concept of the solo album. He is indeed the only live musician on this recording, but it’s the opposite of, say, the austere 2003 One Quiet Night , in which Metheny hunkered down in his home studio to explore the musical possibilities of a single new guitar. Here Metheny works with a magical set-up of acoustic and acousto-electric instrumentation, assembled for him by a far-flung team of mad musical scientists and digital dreamers. Please click image for track listing.
    • $12.99
  • Metheny Mehldau CD
    Item #: 4YCD72
    Original Release Date: September 12, 2006 Please click image for track listing.
    • $12.99
Be the first to review this product. Post Review.